Monday, July 10, 2006

The Drifters

The Drifters were an R&B group formed in 1953 as a showcase for singer Clyde McPhatter. Prior to their first hit on the pop charts, they had eleven Top Ten songs on the R&B charts. The original lineup consisted of Clyde McPhatter, Gerhart and Andrew Thrasher, and Bill Pinkney.

When Clyde McPhatter left for a solo career, manager George Treadwell disbanded the rest of the group brought in The Five Crowns, and renamed them The Drifters (perhaps The New Drifters would have been more like it). This new lineup included Ben E. King, Doc Green, Charlie Thomas and Elsbeary Hobbs. The majority of their Top 100 chart hits were sung by three different lead singers: Ben E. King (1959-60), Rudy Lewis (1961-63), and Johnny Moore (1957, 1964-66).

Throughout their career and despite many personnel changes, they charted 36 records on the pop charts, including nine Top 20 and three Gold Records. The Drifters were indicted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988, and they continue to perform today in various forms.

This week on Treasure Island Oldies, Voice Your Choice features two great hits of The Drifters for your vote: Sweets For My Sweet and There Goes My Baby. Got a preference for either song? Then come to Treasure Island Oldies and cast your vote on Voice Your Choice. The song with the most votes will get played in the third hour of this week's show.